Connect with us

Penn State Nittany Lions

State College, PA – Penn State Football: Trace McSorley Named Team MVP –

The State College Quarterback Club held its annual Penn State football banquet Sunday night, which included handing out team awards for the 2018 season.

Trace McSorley earned the top honor of the night — Most Valuable Player for the 2018 season. The senior quarterback was also handed the Outstanding Senior Player award for greatest career contribution to the team after completing his time in Happy Valley as the program’s all-time wins, passing yards, and touchdowns leader as a quarterback.

Running back Miles Sanders, who rushed for 1,223 yards and nine touchdowns this season, took home offensive MVP honors. Cornerback Amani Oruwariye and defensive end Shareef Miller shared defensive MVP honors.

The full list of awards is below:

  • Lions’ Pride Outstanding Senior Player Award (greatest career contribution to Penn State Football) – quarterback Trace McSorley
  • Most Valuable Player – quarterback Trace McSorley
  • Most Valuable Offensive Player – running back Miles Sanders
  • Most Valuable Defensive Player – cornerback Amani Oruwariye, defensive end Shareef Miller
  • Captain’s Award – quarterback Trace McSorley, safety Nick Scott, punter Blake Gillikin
  • Ridge Riley Award (senior for “sportsmanship, scholarship, leadership, and friendship”) – linebacker Koa Farmer
  • Dick Maginnis Memorial Award (outstanding offensive lineman) – offensive lineman Connor McGoven
  • Bob Mitinger Memorial Award (senior who exhibits courage, character and social responsibility) – safety Nick Scott, running back Johnathan Thomas
  • Reid-Robinson Award (outstanding defensive lineman). Named in honor of two of Penn State’s most acclaimed defensive linemen, Dave Robinson and Mike Reid – defensive end Yetur Gross-Matos
  • John Bruno Memorial Award (outstanding member of special teams) – long snapper Kyle Vasey
  • Tim Shaw Thrive Award (awarded to the student-athlete who has overcome adversities and been an inspiration to his fellow teammates) – defensive end Torrence Brown
  • Iron Lion Award (strength and conditioning). Awarded to the player who demonstrates the cornerstone of the Penn State Football strength and conditioning program — intensity and consistency – running back Johnathan Thomas
  • Outstanding Run-on Award (Run-on player who exemplifies total commitment, loyalty, hard work and courage) – offensive lineman Zach Simpson
  • Quarterback Club Special Awards – running back Mark Allen, defensive end Ryan Buchholz, linebacker Jake Cooper, wide receiver DeAndre Thompkins, linebacker Jason Vranic, offensive lineman Chasz Wright
  • Football Letterman’s Club Joe and Sue Paterno Post-Graduate Scholarship ($5,000 Scholarship to a senior to provide recognition and financial assistance for graduate school) – linebacker Frank Di Leo
  • The Nittany Lion Club Academic Achievement Award (senior with highest GPA) – cornerback Christopher Welde
  • Highest Academic Average – punter Blake Gillikin
  • Public Service Award – offensive lineman Charlie Shuman
  • Scout Team Special Teams Player of the Year – safety Drew Hartlaub
  • Scout Team Defensive Player of the Year – safety Justin Neff, defensive lineman Judge Culpepper, linebacker Max Chizmar
  • Scout Team Offensive Player of the Year – quarterback Will Levis, offensive lineman Charlie Shuman, offensive lineman Juice Scruggs


Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More in Penn State Nittany Lions